• The festival, which will take place between March 31 and April 9, will receive works wishing to participate in its 17th edition until February 3
  • Entry forms can be filled in and sent online through the festival’s official website


The Las Palmas de Gran Canaria International Film Festival, promoted by the capital City Council’s Culture section, has opened today, Monday January 9, the film entry period. Those interested in taking part in the competition’s different sections will be able to fill in and send their applications until next Friday, February 3.

The Gran-Canarian festival includes in its 17th edition online applications through its website,, which already has this edition’s rules and allows the registration and sending of the films’ links while all the dump process finishes.

According to the rules, those works produced in 2016 and 2017 and that still have not been released or taken part in any other festival in Spain will be able to participate in the Festival’s competitive sections -Official Section Feature Films, Official Section Short Films, Canarias Cinema.

Awards will amount the same as in past editions: 15000 euros for the Golden Lady Harimaguada winning feature film, 8000 for the Silver Lady Harimaguada, 5000 euros for the Best New Director (which will only be granted if half of the works submitted to the Official Section are the directorial debut or the second films of their directors), 2000 euros for the Best International Short Film, 1500 euros for the Audience Award, 3000 euros for the Richard Leacock Award to the best Canarian feature film and 1500 euros for the Richard Leacock Award to the best Canarian short film.

As it happened in previous editions, the awards will be granted by four independent juries: the international jury, made up of five international-dimension people; the short-film jury, made up of three people related to the short-film world; the Canarias Cinema jury, three people that will decide both Richard Leacock Awards; and the popular jury, made up of thirty people named after a selection process and who will commit to watch every work submitted to the international section.

Share this Post