Anthology 20th Anniversary, a journey throughout the Festival’s history that recovers a series of key films and authors from its catalogue


 In such a significant edition as this, the Festival programs a film feast based on the selection of 25 films that hold a prominent position in its history

 Five of these titles will be shown in movie theaters and on streaming while the other twenty will be just on streaming

The Las Palmas de Gran Canaria Film Festival will celebrate its twentieth anniversary from April 9th to 18th with the selection of 25 titles made by significant authors in its history.

This anthology, which will be streamed except for five titles screening in theaters, will include past works of great filmmakers who now occupy a significant place in the history of the Festival, such as last winner A portuguesa, by Rita Azevedo, 2018 winner The Green Fog by Guy Maddin, Evan Johnson and Galen Johnson, 2016 winner Kaili Blues by Bi Gan (in theaters) or 2005 winner The World, by “Special 10th Anniversary Award” Jia Zhangke.

It will include, too, some features that premiered at the Festival and introduced the audience to acclaimed filmmakers such as Pedro Costa or Alain Cavalier, whose respective works Ne change rien and Irène will again be shown, as well as other key films by artists such as Asghar Farhadi (whose Fireworks Wednesday, 2007 Golden Lady Harimaguada, will be screened), Apichatpong Weerasethakul (Syndromes and a Century), Hang Sang-soo (Woman on the Beach) and Miguel Gomes (Aquele querido mes de agosto). These filmmakers presented their works at the Gran-Canarian capital before getting recognition at other important festivals: Farhadi later won the Golden Bear at the Berlinale and the Oscar for Best Foreign Language Film; Apichatpong won the Golden Palm at Cannes; Sang-soo won both a Silver Bear and a Un Certain Regard distinction at Cannes; while Gomes won, too, the Golden Bear at Berlin.

The Spanish features La leyenda del tiempo, by Isaki Lacuesta, and Holidays, by Víctor Moreno, which were the Festival’s first contact with these renowned filmmakers, will return to the screens thanks to this special anthology that also recovers fundamental titles included in prestigious rankings. Thus, through its online mode, besides Syndromes and a Century, which premiered in Spain within the Festival’s 8th edition and was ranked first in Cinématheque Ontario’s renowned Best of the Decade list (2000-2009), the audience will be able to once again watch films praised by critics and which were already shown at the Festival, such as Un couple parfait by Nobuhiro Suwa, Junebug by Phil Morrison or Yuri’s Day by Kirill Serebrennikov, among others.

Anthology 20th Anniversary Selection
Screenings in Movie Theater:
Fireworks Wednesday / Chaharshanbeh soori (Asghar Farhadi, Iran, 2006, 102 min.)
La leyenda del tiempo / The Legend of Time (Isaki Lacuesta, Spain, 2006, 115 min.)
Holidays (Víctor Moreno, Spain, 2010, 84 min.)
Nana (Valérie Massadian, France, 2011, 68 min)
Kaili Blues / Lu Bian Ye Can (Bi Gan, China, 2015, 113 min.)

Anthology 20th Anniversary Selection
Only on streaming:
The World / Shije (Jia Zhangke, China, Japan, France, 2004, 143 min.)
Junebug (Phil Morrison, USA, 2005, 107 min.)
Un couple parfait (Nobuhiro Suwa, France, Japan, 2005, 104 min.)
Syndromes and a Century / Sang sattawat (Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Thailand, 2006, 105 min.)
Woman on the Beach / Haebyonui Yeoin (Hong Sang-soo, South Korea, 2006, 127 min.)
Crime & Punishment (Zhao Liang, China, 2007, 122 min.)
Aquele querido mes de agosto / Our Beloved Month of Augost (Miguel Gomes, Portugal, 2008, 147 min.)
Un lac (Philippe Grandrieux, France, 2008, 90 min.)
Yuri’s Day / Yuriev den (Kirill Serebrennikov, Russia, Germany, 2008, 138 min)
Historias Extraordinarias (Mariano Llinás, Argentina, 2008, 245 min.)
Irène (Alain Cavalier, France, 2009, 83 min.)
My Tehran for Sale (Granaz Moussavi, Australia, Iran, 2009, 101 min.)
Ne change rien / Change Nothing (Pedro Costa, France, 2009, 100 min.)
Year Without a Summer / Berkelana (Tan Chui Mui, Malaysia, 2010, 87 min.)
Attenberg (Athina Rachel Tsangari, Greece, 2010, 95 min.)
Mar (Dominga Sotomayor, Chile, 2014, 70 min)
Cuatreros (Albertina Carri, Argentina, 2017, 83 min.)
The Green Fog (Guy Maddin, Evan Johnson, Galen Johnson, USA, 2017, 63 min.)
A portuguesa (Rita Azevedo, Portugal, 2019, 136 min.)

Share this Post